MENU

August 1 data: 6 new deaths, 506 additional cases in Saturday's report

spencer cox governor race utah daniel kovach, kutv (2).JPG
Gov. Gary Herbert speaking with Lt. Gov. Spencer Cox during the COVID-19 pandemic. (FILE: Daniel Kovach / KUTV)

The Utah Department of Health released it's Saturday report to include six new deaths, 506 additional cases, and 210 people currently hospitalized.

Utah does not report patient identity but it released the following information about the four latest victims of COVID-19 in the state:

  • Female, older than 85, Salt Lake County resident, long-term care facility resident;
  • Female, between 65-84, San Juan County resident, hospitalized time of death;
  • Male, between 65-84, Salt Lake County resident, long-term care facility resident;
  • Male, between 45-64, Utah County resident, hospitalized time of death;
  • Male, between 65-84, Utah County resident, long-term care facility resident;
  • Male, older than 85, Salt Lake County resident, hospitalized prior to death.

Positives:

We will report 40,702 positive cases today. This is an increase of 506 cases from yesterday.

Lab Tests:

We will report 533,260 people tested. This is an increase of 4,350 people tested from yesterday.

Trends:

The rolling 7-day average for positive tests is 431 per day. The rolling 7-day average for percent of positive laboratory tests is 9.9%

Hospitalizations:

There are 210 people currently hospitalized with COVID-19. Total hospitalizations from the beginning of the outbreak are 2,412.

Recovered:

28,747 of our cases are considered "recovered". A case with a diagnosis date of more than three weeks ago, who has not passed away, is considered recovered.

The state details on its webpage the process for recording deaths in Utah. The Utah Department of Health uses CDC guidance for certifying death due to coronavirus disease 2019, or COVID-19.

UTAH CUMULATIVE COVID-19 CASES BY WEEK — WEEKLY INCREASE

  • Sun., March 15: 28 — 28
  • Sun., March 22: 181 — +153
  • Sun., March 29: 719 — +538
  • Sun., April 5: 1,605 — +886
  • Sun., April 12: 2,303 — +698
  • Sun., April 19: 3,069 — +766
  • Sun., April 26: 3,948 — +879
  • Sun., May 3: 5,175 — +1,227
  • Sun., May 10: 6,251 — +1,076
  • Sun., May 17: 7,238 — +987
  • Sun., May 24: 8,392 — +1,154
  • Sun., May 31: 9,797 — +1,405
  • Sun., June 7: 12,066 — +2, 269
  • Sun., June 14: 14,313 — +2,247
  • Sun., June 21: 17,462 — +3,149
  • Sun., June 28: 21,100 — +3,638
  • Sun., July 5: 24,952 — +3,852
  • Sun., July 12: 29,484 – +4,532
  • Sun., July 19: 34,117 - + 4,633
  • Sun., July 26: 37,973 - + 3,856

UTAH CUMULATIVE COVID-19 CASES BY DAY

  • Fri., March 13 — 5
  • Sat., March 14 — 12
  • Sun., March 15 — 28
  • Mon., March 16 — 39
  • Tue., March 17 — 51
  • Wed., March 18 — 63
  • Thur., March 19 — 78
  • Fri., March 20 — 112
  • Sat., March 21 -- 136
  • Sun., March 22 — 181
  • Mon., March 23 — 257
  • Tue., March 24 — 298
  • Wed., March 25 — 346
  • Thurs., March 26 — 402
  • Fri., March 27 — 480
  • Sat., March 28 — 602
  • Sun., March 29 — 719
  • Mon., March 30 — 806
  • Tue., March 31 — 887
  • Wed., April 1 — 1,012
  • Thurs., April 2 — 1,074
  • Fri., April 3 — 1,246
  • Sat., April 4 — 1,428
  • Sun., April 5 — 1,605
  • Mon., April 6 — 1,675
  • Tue., April 7 — 1,738
  • Wed., April 8 — 1,846
  • Thur., April 9 — 1,976
  • Fri., April 10 — 2,102
  • Sat., April 11 — 2,206
  • Sun., April 12 — 2,303
  • Mon., April 13 — 2,363
  • Tues., April 14 — 2,412
  • Wed., April 15 — 2,542
  • Thur., April 16 — 2,683
  • Fri., April 17 — 2,805
  • Sat., April 18 — 2,931
  • Sun., April 19 — 3,069
  • Mon., April 20 — 3,213
  • Tues., April 21 -- 3,296
  • Wed., April 22 — 3,445
  • Thur., April 23 — 3,612
  • Fri., April 24 — 3,782
  • Sat., April 25 — 3,948
  • Sun., April 26 — 4,123
  • Mon., April 27 — 4,233
  • Tue., April 28 — 4,343
  • Wed., April 29 — 4,495
  • Thurs., April 30 — 4,672
  • Fri., May 1 — 4,828
  • Sat., May 2 — 4,981
  • Sun., May 3 — 5,175
  • Mon., May 4 — 5,317
  • Tue., May 5 — 5,449
  • Wed., May 6 — 5,595
  • Thur., May 7 — 5,724
  • Fri., May 8 – 5,919
  • Sat., May 9 – 6,103
  • Sun., May 10 – 6,251
  • Mon., May 11 — 6,362
  • Tue., May 12 — 6,432
  • Wed., May 13 — 6,620
  • Thur., May 14 — 6.749
  • Fri., May 15 — 6,913
  • Sat., May 16 – 7,068
  • Sun., May 17 – 7,238
  • Mon., May 18 — 7,384
  • Tue., May 19 — 7,518
  • Wed. May 20 — 7,710
  • Thur., May 21 — 7,874
  • Fri., May 22 —8,057
  • Sat. May 23 — 8,260
  • Sun. May 24— 8,392
  • Mon. May, 25 —8,521
  • Tue. May, 26 —8,6,20
  • Wed., May 27 — 8,706
  • Thurs., May 28 — 8,921
  • Fri., May 29 — 9,264
  • Sat., May 30 — 9,533
  • Sun., May 31 — 9,797
  • Mon., June 1 — 9,999
  • Tue., June 2 — 10,202
  • Wed., June 3 — 10,497
  • Thurs., June 4 — 10,813
  • Fri., June 5 — 11,252
  • Sat., June 6 — 11,798
  • Sun., June 7 — 12,066
  • Mon. June 8 — 12,322
  • Tue., June 9 — 12,559
  • Wed., June 10 — 12,864
  • Thurs., June 11 — 13,252
  • Fri., June 12 — 13,577
  • Sat., June 13 — 13,981
  • Sun., June 14 — 14,313
  • Mon., June 15 —14,608
  • Tue., June 16 — 14,937
  • Wed., June 17 — 15,344
  • Thur., June 18 — 15,839
  • Fri., June 19 — 16,425
  • Sat., June 20 — 17,068
  • Sun., June 21 — 17,462
  • Mon., June 22 — 17,906
  • Tue., June 23 — 18,300
  • Wed., June 24 —18,784
  • Thur., June 25 — 19,374
  • Fri., June 26 — 20,050
  • Sat., June 27 — 20,628
  • Sun., June 28 — 21,100
  • Mon., June 29 — 21,664
  • Tues., June 30 -- 22,217
  • Wed., July 1 — 22,716
  • Thur. July 2 — 23,270
  • Fri. July 3 — 23,866
  • Sat. July 4 — 24,524
  • Sun., July 5 — 24,952
  • Mon., July 6 — 25,471
  • Tues., July 7 — 26,033
  • Wed., July 8 — 26,755
  • Thurs., July 9 — 27, 356
  • Fri., July 10 — 28,223
  • Sat., July 11 – 28,855
  • Sun., July 12 – 29,484
  • Mon., July 13 — 30,030
  • Tue.,, July 14 — 30,478
  • Wed., July 15 — 30,891
  • Thur., July 16 — 31,845* Past results from several weeks, not previously counted, were included in these totals.
  • Fri., July 17 —32,572
  • Sat. July 18 -- 33,332
  • Sun., July 19 – 34,117
  • Mon, July 20 - 34,526
  • Tue., July 21 — 35,012
  • Wed., July 22 -- 35,578
  • Thur., July 23 — 36,099
  • Fri., July 24 — 36,962
  • Sat. July 25 – 37,623
  • Sun. July 26 – 37,973
  • Mon., July 27 — 38,409
  • Tue., July 28 — 38,855
  • Wed., July 29 -- 39,194
  • Thur., July 30 -- 39,656
  • Fri., July 31 — 40,196
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER