MENU

May 22 data: 1 death, 183 new confirmed COVID-19 cases

Fusion Medical coronavirus covid covid19  (2).jpg
Utah enters the week at a moderate risk phase for coronavirus. (File photo: KUTV)

Utah counted another death in its battle with COVID-19 and confirmed 183 new cases through testing. The death was in Weber County of a woman older than 85 who was a resident of a long-term care facility.

The new death Friday brings the total to 93 with the new confirmed cases pushes the total to 8,057. The state has tested 186,834 people with 660 people hospitalized cumulatively, 13 new since yesterday. More than half the cases recorded are in the Salt Lake County health district with 4,308 that also has 389 hospitalizations and 64 of the state's deaths.

The Utah Department of Health, or UDOH, said the rate of new cases was 2.3% increase from Thursday, Of the total tests given, 4.3% have been positive.

Utah released and promoted the 3.0 version of its health and economic plan for the coronavirus pandemic. Gov. Gary Herbert predicted Utah would recover faster and said, as he has previously, that the state is better prepared than any other in the U.S. He did not issue stay-at-home orders for the state, only a directive, strongly urging people to remain home. You can read the full play called "Utah Leads Together 3.0" right here: coronavirus.utah.gov/state-leaders-release-utah-leads-together-3-0/.

COVID-19 response timeline via UDOH:

  • Dec. 31 2019: Chinese officials announce dozens of cases of pneumonia from unknown source
  • Jan. 7: Outbreak identified as new novel coronavirus
  • Jan. 11; A 61-year-old man from Wuhan, China, dies from virus
  • Jan. 21: First case of coronavirus confirmed in the U.S.
  • Jan. 29: UDOH actively prepares for response to COVID-19 in Utah
  • Jan. 30: WHO declares global public health emergency, confirmed in 18 countries
  • Feb. 28: First COVID-19 patient from cruise ship arrives in Utah in isolation
  • March 2: Gov. Herbert creats COVID-19 task force
  • March 6: Herbert declares state of emergency
  • March 10: Confirmed U.S. cases pass 1,000
  • March 11: WHO declares global pandemic, two Utah Jazz players confirmed to have virus
  • March 12: Herbert says no gatherings of more than 100 people
  • March 13: Soft closure of Utah schools announced
  • March 17: Herbert orders restaurants to suspend dine-in service, bars too
  • March 18: Earthquake!
  • March 19: Confirmed cases in U.S. passes 10,000
  • March 20: Global death toll reaches 10,000
  • March 22: Utah confirms first COVID-19 death
  • March 23: U.S. third in the world with cases behind China and Italy
  • March 25: U.S. passes 50,000 confirmed cases of COVID-19
  • March 26: Non-essential medical procedures restricted
  • March 27: Utah records second COVID-19 death
  • April 1: Utah exceeds 1,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases
  • April 10: Wireless emergency alert activated at Utah borders
  • April 13: Emergency alerts suspended
  • April 15: Utah records 20 COVID-19 deaths
  • April 27: Testing is primary focus of Utah's response
  • April 28: A "mask for every Utahn" initiative announced
  • May 1: Utah moves to moderate risk
  • May 3: Utah surpasses 5,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases, 50 deaths
  • May 11: Utah surpasses 6,000 COVID-19 cases
  • May 13: State records 75th death attributed to COVID-19

Utah COVID-19 confirmed cases by week:

  • Sun., March 15 — 28
  • Sun., March 22 — 181
  • Sun., March 29 — 719
  • Sun., April 5 — 1,605
  • Sun., April 12 — 2,303
  • Sun., April 19 — 3,069
  • Sun., April 26 — 3,948
  • Sun., May 3 — 5,175
  • Sun., May 10 — 6,251
  • Sun., May 17 – 7,238

Utah COVID-19 cases by the day:

  • Fri. March 13 — 5
  • Sat. March 14 — 12
  • Sun., March 15 — 28
  • Mon., March 16 — 39
  • Tue., March 17 — 51
  • Wed., March 18 — 63
  • Thur., March 19 — 78
  • Fri., March 20 — 112
  • Sun., March 22 — 181
  • Mon., March 23 — 257
  • Tue., March 24 — 298
  • Wed., March 25 — 346
  • Thurs., March 26 — 402
  • Fri., March 27 — 480
  • Sat., March 28 — 602
  • Sun., March 29 — 719
  • Mon., March 30 — 806
  • Tue., March 31 — 887
  • Wed., April 1 — 1,012
  • Thurs., April 2 — 1,074
  • Fri., April 3 — 1,246
  • Sat., April 4 — 1,428
  • Sun., April 5 — 1,605
  • Mon., April 6 — 1,675
  • Tue., April 7 — 1,738
  • Wed., April 8 — 1,846
  • Thur., April 9 — 1,976
  • Fri., April 10 — 2,102
  • Sat., April 11 — 2,206
  • Sun., April 12 — 2,303
  • Mon., April 13 — 2,363
  • Tues., April 14 — 2,412
  • Wed., April 15 — 2,542
  • Thur., April 16 — 2,683
  • Fri., April 17 — 2,805
  • Sat., April 18 — 2,931
  • Sun., April 19 — 3,069
  • Mon., April 20 — 3,213
  • Tues., April 21 -- 3,296
  • Wed., April 22 — 3,445
  • Thur., April 23 — 3,612
  • Fri., April 24 — 3,782
  • Sat., April 25 — 3,948
  • Sun., April 26 — 4,123
  • Mon., April 27 — 4,233
  • Tue., April 28 — 4,343
  • Wed., April 29 — 4,495
  • Thurs., April 30 — 4,672
  • Fri., May 1 — 4,828
  • Sat., May 2 — 4,981
  • Sun., May 3 — 5,175
  • Mon., May 4 — 5,317
  • Tue., May 5 — 5,449
  • Wed., May 6 — 5,595
  • Thur., May 7 — 5,724
  • Fri., May 8 – 5,919
  • Sat., May 9 – 6,103
  • Sun., May 10 – 6,251
  • Mon., May 11 — 6,362
  • Tue., May 12 — 6,432
  • Wed., May 13 — 6,620
  • Thur., May 14 — 6.749
  • Fri., May 15 — 6,913
  • Sat., May 16 – 7,068
  • Sun., May 17 – 7,238
  • Mon., May 18 — 7,384
  • Tue., May 19 — 7,518
  • Wed. May 20 — 7,710
  • Thur., May 21 — 7,874
  • Fri., May 22 —
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER