New Salt Lake City Council leadership chosen

Pictured left to right: James Rogers, Charlie Luke (Photo: Salt Lake City Council)

The Salt Lake City Council announced it has elected a new leadership team for 2019.

At the council’s Tuesday meeting, Charlie Luke, who represents District 6, was elected to serve as chairman of the council. James Rogers, who represents District 1, will serve as the vice chair.

Both Luke and Rogers have previously served in council leadership. Luke stated in a press release:

I’m looking forward to again serving Salt Lake City in the year ahead as chair of the city council. It’s challenging work, but together with my colleagues as well as residents, businesses, community partners, and other leaders we can address our issues and carry forward the great momentum we have in our growing city.

Luke was first elected to the council in 2011. Rogers was elected in 2013. The team will serve a standard, one-year term beginning immediately. They take over from outgoing chair Erin Mendenhall and Chris Wharton, who was vice chair, a news release stated.