MENU

Sept. 19 data: Utah's COVID-19 surge continues with 3 deaths, 1,077 new cases

DRIVE UP TESTING THRU  COVID CORONAVIRUS (2).png
Drive-up testing is part of the protocol in Utah. (Photo: KUTV)

A surge in COVID-19 cases in Utah continued Saturday with the second-highest single day total of 1,077 cases while three deaths were also recorded.

Saturday didn't break the daily record as the previous two days had done consecutively, but it was only the second time ever that cases were over, 1,000 confirmed tests in a single day. State leaders including Gov. Gary Herbert have expressed deep concern over the sudden surge that is led by Utah County's own surge and by cases in age groups that aren't themselves at high risk but are viewed as potential spreaders to those who are.

The three people who died were all under the age of 84, two of the individuals were under the age of 64. The state does not release the identities of COVID-19 victims, though families often do to local media.

The state reported the following Saturday:

Positives:

  • We will report 62,852 positive cases today. This is an increase of 1,077 cases from yesterday.

Lab Tests:

  • We will report 751,950 people tested. This is an increase of 8,213 people tested from yesterday.

Trends:

  • The rolling 7-day average for positive tests is 796 per day. The rolling 7-day average for percent of positive laboratory tests is 12.7%

Hospitalizations:

  • There are 137 people currently hospitalized with COVID-19. Total hospitalizations from the beginning of the outbreak are 3,477.

Deaths:

We will report 440 total deaths, which is three more than yesterday.

  • Female, between 45-64, Salt Lake County resident, hospitalized at time of death
  • Female, between 65-84, Utah County resident, not hospitalized at time of death
  • Male, between 45-64, Washington County resident, hospitalized at time of death

Recovered:

  • 50,957 of our cases are considered "recovered". A case with a diagnosis date of more than three weeks ago, who has not passed away, is considered recovered.

On Friday the mayors of Salt Lake County and Salt Lake City released a statement about the recent surge.

Worldwide, there are 30 million COVID-19 cases and 958,816 deaths, according to worldometers.info/coronavirus. It says 22.4 million people have recovered from the virus. The website, that collects data directly from health districts worldwide shows the United States with 6.9 million cases, 203,482 deaths and 4.2 million recoveries.

The U.S. has the most cases in the world, the most total deaths, was second in deaths on Friday with 954 and had the second most new cases Friday. It is 11th in most cases pre 1 million residents, 11th in death per 1 million, second in total tests given and 19th in tests per 1 million residents.

UTAH CUMULATIVE COVID-19 CASES BY WEEK — WEEKLY INCREASE

  • Sun., March 15: 28 — 28
  • Sun., March 22: 181 — +153
  • Sun., March 29: 719 — +538
  • Sun., April 5: 1,605 — +886
  • Sun., April 12: 2,303 — +698
  • Sun., April 19: 3,069 — +766
  • Sun., April 26: 3,948 — +879
  • Sun., May 3: 5,175 — +1,227
  • Sun., May 10: 6,251 — +1,076
  • Sun., May 17: 7,238 — +987
  • Sun., May 24: 8,392 — +1,154

  • Sun., May 31: 9,797 — +1,405
  • Sun., June 7: 12,066 — +2, 269
  • Sun., June 14: 14,313 — +2,247
  • Sun., June 21: 17,462 — +3,149
  • Sun., June 28: 21,100 — +3,638
  • Sun., July 5: 24,952 — +3,852
  • Sun., July 12: 29,484 – +4,532
  • Sun., July 19: 34,117 - + 4,633
  • Sun., July 26: 37,973 - + 3,856
  • Sun., Aug. 2: 41, 175 - + 3,202
  • Sun., Aug. 9: 44,127 - + 2,952
  • Sun., Aug. 16: 46,652 + 2,528
  • Sun., Aug. 23: 49,115 + 2,463
  • Sun., Aug. 30: 51,854 – + 2,739
  • Sun., Sept. 6: 54,660 -- +2,806
  • Sun., Sept. 13: 57,875 -- +3,215

UTAH CUMULATIVE COVID-19 CASES BY DAY

  • Fri., March 13 — 5
  • Sat., March 14 — 12
  • Sun., March 15 — 28
  • Mon., March 16 — 39
  • Tue., March 17 — 51
  • Wed., March 18 — 63
  • Thur., March 19 — 78
  • Fri., March 20 — 112
  • Sat., March 21 -- 136
  • Sun., March 22 — 181
  • Mon., March 23 — 257
  • Tue., March 24 — 298
  • Wed., March 25 — 346
  • Thurs., March 26 — 402
  • Fri., March 27 — 480
  • Sat., March 28 — 602
  • Sun., March 29 — 719
  • Mon., March 30 — 806
  • Tue., March 31 — 887
  • Wed., April 1 — 1,012
  • Thurs., April 2 — 1,074
  • Fri., April 3 — 1,246
  • Sat., April 4 — 1,428
  • Sun., April 5 — 1,605
  • Mon., April 6 — 1,675
  • Tue., April 7 — 1,738
  • Wed., April 8 — 1,846
  • Thur., April 9 — 1,976
  • Fri., April 10 — 2,102
  • Sat., April 11 — 2,206
  • Sun., April 12 — 2,303
  • Mon., April 13 — 2,363
  • Tues., April 14 — 2,412
  • Wed., April 15 — 2,542
  • Thur., April 16 — 2,683
  • Fri., April 17 — 2,805
  • Sat., April 18 — 2,931
  • Sun., April 19 — 3,069
  • Mon., April 20 — 3,213
  • Tues., April 21 -- 3,296
  • Wed., April 22 — 3,445
  • Thur., April 23 — 3,612
  • Fri., April 24 — 3,782
  • Sat., April 25 — 3,948
  • Sun., April 26 — 4,123
  • Mon., April 27 — 4,233
  • Tue., April 28 — 4,343
  • Wed., April 29 — 4,495
  • Thurs., April 30 — 4,672
  • Fri., May 1 — 4,828
  • Sat., May 2 — 4,981
  • Sun., May 3 — 5,175
  • Mon., May 4 — 5,317
  • Tue., May 5 — 5,449
  • Wed., May 6 — 5,595
  • Thur., May 7 — 5,724
  • Fri., May 8 – 5,919
  • Sat., May 9 – 6,103
  • Sun., May 10 – 6,251
  • Mon., May 11 — 6,362
  • Tue., May 12 — 6,432
  • Wed., May 13 — 6,620
  • Thur., May 14 — 6.749
  • Fri., May 15 — 6,913
  • Sat., May 16 – 7,068
  • Sun., May 17 – 7,238

  • Mon., May 18 — 7,384
  • Tue., May 19 — 7,518
  • Wed. May 20 — 7,710
  • Thur., May 21 — 7,874
  • Fri., May 22 —8,057
  • Sat. May 23 — 8,260
  • Sun. May 24— 8,392
  • Mon. May, 25 —8,521
  • Tue. May, 26 —8,6,20
  • Wed., May 27 — 8,706
  • Thurs., May 28 — 8,921
  • Fri., May 29 — 9,264
  • Sat., May 30 — 9,533
  • Sun., May 31 — 9,797
  • Mon., June 1 — 9,999
  • Tue., June 2 — 10,202
  • Wed., June 3 — 10,497
  • Thurs., June 4 — 10,813
  • Fri., June 5 — 11,252
  • Sat., June 6 — 11,798
  • Sun., June 7 — 12,066
  • Mon. June 8 — 12,322
  • Tue., June 9 — 12,559
  • Wed., June 10 — 12,864
  • Thurs., June 11 — 13,252
  • Fri., June 12 — 13,577
  • Sat., June 13 — 13,981
  • Sun., June 14 — 14,313
  • Mon., June 15 —14,608
  • Tue., June 16 — 14,937
  • Wed., June 17 — 15,344
  • Thur., June 18 — 15,839
  • Fri., June 19 — 16,425
  • Sat., June 20 — 17,068
  • Sun., June 21 — 17,462
  • Mon., June 22 — 17,906
  • Tue., June 23 — 18,300
  • Wed., June 24 —18,784
  • Thur., June 25 — 19,374
  • Fri., June 26 — 20,050
  • Sat., June 27 — 20,628
  • Sun., June 28 — 21,100
  • Mon., June 29 — 21,664
  • Tues., June 30 -- 22,217
  • Wed., July 1 — 22,716
  • Thur., July 2 — 23,270
  • Fri., July 3 — 23,866
  • Sat., July 4 — 24,524
  • Sun., July 5 — 24,952
  • Mon., July 6 — 25,471
  • Tues., July 7 — 26,033
  • Wed., July 8 — 26,755
  • Thurs., July 9 — 27, 356
  • Fri., July 10 — 28,223
  • Sat., July 11 – 28,855
  • Sun., July 12 – 29,484
  • Mon., July 13 — 30,030
  • Tue.,, July 14 — 30,478
  • Wed., July 15 — 30,891
  • Thur., July 16 — 31,845* Past results from several weeks, not previously counted, were included in these totals.
  • Fri., July 17 —32,572
  • Sat., July 18 -- 33,332
  • Sun., July 19 – 34,117
  • Mon., July 20 - 34,526
  • Tue., July 21 — 35,012
  • Wed., July 22 -- 35,578
  • Thur., July 23 — 36,099
  • Fri., July 24 — 36,962
  • Sat., July 25 – 37,623
  • Sun., July 26 – 37,973
  • Mon., July 27 — 38,409
  • Tue., July 28 — 38,855
  • Wed., July 29 -- 39,194
  • Thur., July 30 -- 39,656
  • Fri., July 31 — 40,196
  • Sat., Aug. 1 -- 40,702
  • Sun., Aug. 2 --41,175
  • Mon., Aug 3 -- 41,529
  • Tues., Aug. 4 -- 41,907

  • Wed., Aug. 5 -- 42,328
  • Thur., Aug 6 — 42.915
  • Fri., Aug 7. --43,375
  • Sat., Aug. 8 — 43,751
  • Sun., Aug. 9 — 44,127
  • Mon., Aug. 10 — 44,390
  • Tues., Aug. 11 -- 44,752
  • Wed., Aug. 12 -- 45,090
  • Thur., Aug. 13 — 45,424
  • Fri., Aug. 14 - 45,976
  • Sat., Aug. 15 -- 46,321
  • Sun., Aug. 16 -- 46,652
  • Mon., Aug. 17 — 46894
  • Tues., Aug. 18 — 47,157
  • Wed., Aug 19 — 47,521
  • Thurs. Aug 20. — 47,982
  • Fri. Aug. 21 — 48,445
  • Sat. Aug. 22 — 48,814
  • Sun., Aug. 23 — 49,115
  • Mon. Aug. 24 — 49,364
  • Tues. Aug. 25 - 49,767
  • Wed., Aug. 26 -- 50,174
  • Thurs., Aug. 27 -- 50,557
  • Fri., Aug. 28 -- 50,948
  • Sat., Aug. 29 -- 51,406
  • Sun., Aug. 30 -- 51,854
  • Mon., Aug. 31 -- 52,107
  • Tues., Sept. 1 -- 52,403
  • Wed., Sept. 2 -- 52,822
  • Thurs., Sept. 3 -- 53,326
  • Fri., Sept 4 -- 53,839
  • Sat. Sept. 5 -- 54,272
  • Sun. Sept 6 — 54,660
  • Mon. Sept. 7 — 55,033
  • Tue., Sept. 8 — 55,359
  • Wed., Sept. 9 — 55,673
  • Thur., Sept. 10 — 56,019
  • Fri., Sept. 11 - 56,675
  • Sat., Sept. 12 - 57,247
  • Sun., Sept. 13 - 57,875
  • Mon., Sept. 14 - 58,438
  • Tues., Sept 15 - 59,000
  • Wed., Sept. 16 - 59,747
  • Thurs., Sept. 17 - 60,658
  • Fri., Sept. 18 - 61,775

For more coronavirus-related stories, click here.

For more from Utah's coronavirus website, click here.

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER