NBA Board of Governors set to vote on 22-team return to play format

Boston Celtics' Marcus Smart (36) goes to the basket past Utah Jazz's Royce O'Neale during the first quarter of an NBA basketball game Friday, March 6, 2020, in Boston. (AP Photo/Winslow Townson)

UPDATE: (June 4, 2020) -- The NBA board of governors voted Thursday to approve a 22-team format to restart the 2019-20 season in Orlando, Florida, the league announced Thursday.


The National Basketball Association’s Board of Governors is set to vote tomorrow morning on a return to play format to finish the 2019-20 NBA season, according to ESPN.

According to Adrian Wojnarowski, the board is expected to approve a league proposal that would see 22 teams travel to the Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, FL for eight regular-season games along with a possible play-in tournament followed by a 16-team playoff.

The top eight teams from the Western Conference and Eastern Conference will all head to Orlando along with six teams that are within six games of eighth place in their respective conferences. Those teams are the Portland Trail Blazers, New Orleans Pelicans, Sacramento Kings, San Antonio Spurs, Phoenix Suns, and Washington Wizards.

The Utah Jazz currently sits in fifth place in the Western Conference, just three games behind the Los Angeles Clippers for second place and one game ahead of both the Oklahoma City Thunder and Houston Rockets for sixth and seventh place respectfully.

Teams are reported to begin training at team sites in July and move on to full training camps in Orlando later in the month. Sources told ESPN that the league is expecting to have daily testing for the coronavirus while the players are in Orlando.

The NBA has been suspended since March 11 due to the coronavirus pandemic.